x64 dual boot configuration

I just wanted to share my preferred dual boot configuration-
C: drive, FAT32, boot drive
D: drive, NTFS, Windows XP x86
E: drive, NTFS, Windows XP x64
Nothing exciting about this except for.
C: drive contains My Documents and Favorite folders, boot.ini, ntldr and
ntdetect.com files
DOS is installed first of all in C: drive
WinXP x86 comes later on D: drive and last but not least WinXP x64 on E: drive
I have redirected the locations of My Documents and Favorites folders from
within both Windows installations so that they point to the corresponding
folers on C: drive. This can be easily done with MS TweakUI.
So, no problem when re-formating or re-installing on D: and E: drives.
My documents and Favorites will always be sitting there and are the same for
both OS’s.
I also have a "Backup" folder on C: drive containing boot.ini, ntdlr, and
ntdetect.com (x64 versions).
Better than that, both Outlook installations use a common "outlook.pst" file
located in C: drive.
This way I can open my e-mail and work with my contacts from both OS’s and
share the same information.
Esta entrada fue publicada en Informática e Internet. Guarda el enlace permanente.

Responder

